Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

January 6, 2015 5 Stars, Reviews 5


Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Mental Health
Series: Standalone
Published On: January 6th 2015
Publisher: Random House Children's
Pages: 384
Format: e-ARC
Source: Netgalley - In exchange for an honest review.
My Rating: 5 Stars

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository


Goodreads | Twitter | Website | Facebook
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

I started All the Bright Places with the highest expectations possible, and I was not let down. Not even a little bit! Oh gosh, this book was so amazing and brilliant. My heart is still aching from reading it, and I will never, ever get over this book.

Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at their high school, both of them concerned with life and death, and struggling with issues they don’t know how get past. Then, Finch talks Violet down from the ledge, but it’s Violet who gets the credit for saving Finch. 

Finch then becomes attached to Violet, simply because she smiled at him (how adorable! Eek!) and ambushes her into being his partner for a U.S. Geography project to explore their state, Indiana.

“I’m still here, and I’m grateful, because otherwise I would be missing this. Sometimes it’s good to be awake. ‘So not today,’ I sing. ‘Because she smiled at me.'” – All the Bright Places (ARC) by Jennifer Niven

While wandering their state, they become closer and Finch helps Violet to accept the fact that her sister is gone, and that it’s okay to move on.

Except, while Violet is getting better, Finch is sinking deeper into his problems and his illness. And this totally broke my heart.

I loved how real and complex the characters were. Finch was always very sarcastic and funny, despite everything he was dealing with. Violet was hesitant, guarded, but she accepts Finch for who he is. Together, they were adorable and perfect, and I shipped them so hard.

You, of all people, should know better than to say something like this when someone is so happy. ‘Just be careful’ implies that there’s an end to it all, maybe in an hour, maybe in three years, but an end just the same.” All the Bright Places (ARC) by Jennifer Niven

I think this book is so important because of how well it tackles mental illness, suicide, and abuse. Mental illness is a tough subject to write about, especially when suicide is involved, but Niven manages to do it brilliantly. She’s honest, moving, and she brings the subject down to a level where everyone can sympathize, if not understand, and relate to it.

You should read this. This is going to be that one book that I relentless push people to read just because I loved it so, so much! It’s very possibly going to be my favorite book of 2015, and it’s only January!

So, yeah, read All the Bright Places because you’ll fall in love with Finch and Violet, and you’ll never want to put this book down. Oh, and you might cry.

Also, how awesome is it that this book is already going to be made a movie starring Elle Fanning?! Very.

Germ Magazine

In All the Bright Places, Violet starts up a magazine about lit, love, and life. Click the image below to check out the magazine.

Germ Magazine
Jessica

About Jessica

Jessica is an twenty year old blogger who lives in Michigan. She's currently a junior in college. She's a full-time student and part-time employee. She loves to read young adult fiction, especially contemporary, romance, and dystopian. Feel free to drop by and say hi by leaving a comment on one of her blog posts- she'll be sure to reply!

5 Responses to “Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven”

  1. Lola @ Hit or Miss Books

    I guess I just didn’t like how the mental illness in this book did not seem that important or standing out shall I say rightly because of the humor. Honestly, you could defend this book all the way and I would accept your points because I find myself not choosing the right words it seems to express my opinion on this book. I don’t know much about mental illness or how the person feels to be honest, since no one I know or am close to has bipolarity or depression, etc. So it has probably shown in my review. But, anyways, glad you enjoyed! 🙂
    Lola @ Hit or Miss Books recently posted…Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer NivenMy Profile

    • Jessica

      I understand you point. I saw the humor differently, I guess. I thought it served to lighten the subject in a positive way and bring it to life. I completely get why you might have not enjoyed it as much, and besides, not everyone is going to love it as much as I did. 😀 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge