5 Books You Might Enjoy if You Love ‘The Breakfast Club’

May 23, 2017 Bookish Lists 1


This post was originally going to be “5 Books You Might Enjoy if You Love 80’s Teen Movies,” but that was just too broad and specific at the same time. For starters, I feel like I didn’t need to limit it to any particular decade. The angst and problems the teens face in the Breakfast Club are timeless, although the 80’s were pretty awesome in terms of movies (and music). Also, The Breakfast Club just has a certain vibe that not every 80’s movie has.

The Breakfast Club Gif

The Breakfast ClubTitle: The Breakfast Club
Director: John Hughes
Writer: John Hughes
Year: 1985
Rating: R
Cast: Emilio Estevez, Paul Gleason, Anthony Michael Hall, Judd Nelson, Molly Ringwald and Ally Sheedy
IMDb | Wikipedia | Amazon

Five high school students meet in Saturday detention and discover how they have a lot more in common than they thought. The story line follows five teenagers, each members of different high school cliques, who spend a Saturday in detention together and come to realize that they are all more than their respective stereotypes, while facing a strict disciplinarian. Five high school students from different walks of life endure a Saturday detention under a power-hungry principal (Paul Gleason). The disparate group includes rebel John (Judd Nelson), princess Claire (Molly Ringwald), outcast Allison (Ally Sheedy), brainy Brian (Anthony Michael Hall) and Andrew (Emilio Estevez), the jock. Each has a chance to tell his or her story, making the others see them a little differently — and when the day ends, they question whether school will ever be the same.

So, without further ado, here’s 5 books you might enjoy if you love the Breakfast Club:

The Perks of Being a WallflowerThe Scar BoysEleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellWe Are Still Tornadoes

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Technically, the Perks of Being a Wallflower is set in the early 90’s, but it’s still a coming-of-age novel that explores similar themes that are present in The Breakfast Club. Perks shows what it’s like to feel like an outsider as Charlie navigates high school and the challenges of being a teenager. Perks has wonderful, dimensional characters that will make you laugh, cry, and completely relate to what they’re going through. Plus, while it’s not set in the 80’s, this book absolutely provides a wonderful dose of nostalgia, if that’s what you’re looking for!

Goodreads | Amazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

2. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A. S. King

Like The Breakfast Club, there’s something honest and uncensored in Please Ignore Vera Dietz about what growing up and being young is like. Although the stories are totally different, there’s similar themes of coming-of-age and friendship despite the circumstances. This book has hints of realism and there’s some pretty weird sections from the perspective of things or places, but all in all, Vera is a book that is heartfelt, funny, and honest.

Goodreads |  Amazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

3. The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos

If you like The Breakfast Club for its amazing soundtrack (Don’t You!), then you’ll like The Scar Boys. The Scar Boys follows a young boy in a punk rock band. Harry was severely burned in an accident (or more like a cruel incident) that leaves him covered in burns. Harry knows what it’s like to not fit in and be bullied for how he appears. But with the help of a friend and some good music, Harry gets through it all. The Scar Boys is a coming-of-age novel that will have you rooting for Harry as he takes you on his journey through adolescence.

GoodreadsAmazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

4. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

The Breakfast Club has some cute (somewhat weird) romance, and so does Eleanor and Park. Set one year after the Breakfast Club, this book totally has the 80’s vibe you’re looking for. Don’t be fooled by the fact that this is a YA romance into thinking that it’s all fluff and giggles. Eleanor and Park has some pretty dark, sad aspects that will have your heart breaking for the characters. But there’s definitely some cuteness and giggles, too.

GoodreadsAmazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

5. We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen

It’s the summer of 1982, and for Scott and Cath, everything is about to change.

We Are Still Tornadoes is probably THE best 80’s teen romance book I’ve ever read. That being said, the truth is that I haven’t read very many. BUT it’s still an adorable book about growing up, adjusting to college, and the joy and struggles of friendships. Cath and Scott will absolutely win your hearts from the start. This book is packed with pop culture (particularly music) references from the 80’s that will give you a dose of nostalgia.

GoodreadsAmazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

BONUS: One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

I haven’t read One of Us is Lying, but here’s a review by Lola @ Hit or Miss books! This book has a summary that practically describes the characters in The Breakfast Club EXCEPT this book is a mystery/thriller! So if you’re looking for something a little bit different but still reminiscent of TBC, check this book out! 🙂

GoodreadsAmazon

The Breakfast Club Gif

That’s all for today, folks!

SO tell me: what books remind you of The Breakfast Club (or any of your favorite movies)?

Jessica

About Jessica

Jessica is an twenty year old blogger who lives in Michigan. She's currently a junior in college. She's a full-time student and part-time employee. She loves to read young adult fiction, especially contemporary, romance, and dystopian. Feel free to drop by and say hi by leaving a comment on one of her blog posts- she'll be sure to reply!

One Response to “5 Books You Might Enjoy if You Love ‘The Breakfast Club’”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge